Find local advocacy groups, bike shops, instructors, clubs, classes and more!

Find by Zip Code or City, State
Find by State
Find based on current location

League Policy Director Wins APBP Award

Today the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals named Darren Flusche, League Policy Director, the Professional of the Year in the Non-Profit Sector.

Flusche was recognized for his work helping bike/ped professionals and advocates navigate and tap funding from MAP-21, the federal transportation bill. Flusche, who’s been League Policy Director since 2009, has spent much of the past year presenting workshops across the country on MAP-21, through his work with Advocacy Advance, the partnership between the League and the Alliance for Biking & Walking.

“In the last 12 months Darren has come into his own as a leading professional in the field of bicycling and walking,” said Andy Clarke, League President. “The groundbreaking ‘Navigating MAP-21’ Advocacy Advance workshop series, delivered in more than a dozen communities nationwide in the past year, has brought agency staff and advocates together to identify ways to fund bicycling projects and programs — and it’s really working! Fusche’s policy acumen and ability to communicate complex topics in report form as well as webinars, workshops and conferences, definitely makes him one to watch for the future.”

Flusche is a graduate of Syracuse University and obtained his Master’s of Public Administration at New York University.  Through the Advocacy Advance program, he provides support to state and local advocates on a range of topics, especially federal, state, and local funding campaigns. 

We were also happy to see Anne Lusk, a researcher at Harvard School of Publich Health and a Women Bike supporter, take home the APBP Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Dr. Lusk’s work to make bicycling safer and more attractive spans 32 years. She is recognized for drawing attention to design changes that cause women, seniors, and children to feel more comfortable on bikes,” APBP said in its press release announcing this year’s winners. 

Posted in