Find local advocacy groups, bike shops, instructors, clubs, classes and more!

Find by Zip Code or City, State
Find by State
Find based on current location

Congratulations to the 2019 National Bike Summit Awardees

Each National Bike Summit is an opportunity to recognize the exemplars of our vibrant bicycle advocacy community. From organizations to individuals, everyone plays an important role in the campaigns and initiatives that make biking better. These awardees are the ones that inspire us, keep us motivated, and encourage us to reach bigger goals. We were honored to have the 2019 award winners join us at the National Bike Summit and share their stories with us. 

Advocacy Organization of the Year

This award goes to a bicycling and/or walking advocacy organization or club who, in the past year, made significant progress. Their leaders have worked tirelessly to grow and strengthen their organization and fulfill their mission. The proof of their efforts is in the growth of their capacity, programs, membership and the victories they have achieved for biking and walking in their state/community.

In 2019, the award goes to Bikemore


Susie Stephens Joyful Enthusiasm Award

This award commemorates Susie Stephens, one of the Alliance for Biking & Walking’s founders and an enduring inspiration for many members of the bicycle and pedestrian movement. The honor goes to an individual or group who carries on Susie’s passion for advocating for bicycling as a fun and economical means of transportation.

In 2019, the award goes to Vivian Ortiz


Gail & Jim Spann Educator of the Year

This award recognizes a person that has worked to elevate bike education in their state/community. We’re recognizing League Cycling Instructors who are active in teaching classes in the past year, serve diverse communities, and have shown innovation in their education work. 

In 2019, the award goes to Jamie Gaskill


Advocate of the Year

This award goes to a leader of a bicycling and/or walking advocacy organization who has shown tireless commitment to promoting bicycling and walking. This person goes above and beyond the call of duty to transform their community into a great place for biking and walking. Their time, knowledge, creativity, and commitment are the highest standard of excellence exemplifying a role model for peers.

In 2019, the award goes to Ed Barsotti


Emerging Leader

This award is a special accolade for a young person who is new to the bicycling movement and has demonstrated exceptional and inspiring bicycle advocacy. Nominees have demonstrated leadership in their short tenure and show great potential to continue leading in the bicycling movement.

In 2019, the award goes to Deltrece Daniels