Find local advocacy groups, bike shops, instructors, clubs, classes and more!

Find by Zip Code or City, State
Find by State
Find based on current location

The League Welcomes 2018 Class of Board Directors

After a month-long election process that closed November 30, the League is proud to announce new and returning members to its board of directors. 

Newly elected board directors are:

Bob Oppliger from Iowa City, Iowa. Bob has been a leading bicycle advocate in Iowa, holding many local and countywide advocacy positions. Oppliger is also a very active LCI, hosting numerous bike rodeos in grade schools and working with local administrators to create a K–12 bike education program. 

Karin Weisburgh is a non-car owner and lifetime bike commuter, and an LCI since 2015. She’s attended and lobbied at the National Bike Summit for many years, and has been a League member since 1982. She’s received several awards and press coverage (including in The New York Times) for her devotion to bicycle commuting, and has written a how-to manual on year-round bicycle commuting.

A.J. Zelada’s bicycle advocacy started in the late 1990s with the Bicycle Transportation Alliance in Portland, Oregon. The BTA helped create the three-foot rule, and in 2005 Zaleda was selected by the Governor of Oregon to be a member of the Oregon Bicycle & Pedestrian Advisory Committee to the Oregon Department of Transportation. He continues to serve in many bicycle advocacy positions and is looking forward to contributing to the League.  

Mike Sewell, P.E., is the Director of Active Transportation and Louisville Office Transportation Leader at Gresham Smith and Partners, an award-winning planning firm. Mike has helped establish GS&P as a leader in multimodal design, complete streets and network planning. Under Mike’s leadership, GS&P’s Louisville office received gold-level bike-friendly business status, as awarded by the League.

Rounding out the slate of elected directors are Harry Brull, currently the Board Secretary, and Ralph Monti, the League’s Board Chair.