Find local advocacy groups, bike shops, instructors, clubs, classes and more!

Find by Zip Code or City, State
Find by State
Find based on current location

Strong fight from Rep. Petri & others, but pro-bike amendment defeated by two votes

Representative Tom Petri (R-WI) and his colleagues Timothy Johnson (R-IL), and Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ) showed themselves today to be strong and brave defenders of biking and walking, a balanced transportation system, and livable communities. Thanks also to Daniel Lipinski (D-IL) for co-sponsoring the pro-biking amendment and all of the democrats who votes for it.

The amendment lost by just two votes. This was a strong showing in a very difficult political environment. The House leadership strongly opposed the amendment, so our thanks goes to Reps. Petri, Johnson, and LoBiondo for standing with their constituents and people everywhere who value walking and biking. If these Congressmen represent you, please let them know you recognize their efforts.

Watch this inspired performance from Representative Peter DeFazio (D-OR) in which he says we’re going back to the pre-1980s in this country:

Let’s keep the fight going at the National Bike Summit.

Here’s the breakdown of the vote. Remember, votes for the Petri amendment are good for biking and walking programs and votes against are bad.

Votes in favor of pro-bike Petri amendment
Altmire (D-PA)
Bernice-Johnson (D-TX)
Bishop (D-NY)
Boswell (D-IA)
Brown (D-FL)
Capuano (D-MA)
Carnahan (D-MO)
Cohen (D-TN)
Costello (D-IL)
Cummings (D-MD)
DeFazio (D-OR)
Edwards (D-MD)
Hinrono (D-HI)
Holden (D-PA)
Johnson (D-TX)
Johnson (R-IL)
Larsen (D-WA)
Lipinski (D-IL)
LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Michaud (D-ME)
Nadler (D-NY)
Napolitano (D-CA)
Norton (D-DC)
Petri (R-WI)
Richardson (D-CA)
Shuler (D-NC)
Walz (D-MN)

Votes against Petri amendment
Barletta (R-PA)
Buschon (R-IN)
Capito (R-WV)
Coble (R-NC)
Cravaack (R-MN)
Crawford (R-AR)
Denham (R-CA)
Duncan (R-TN)
Farenthold (R-TX)
Fleischmann (R-TN)
Gibbs (R-OH)
Graves (R-MO)
Guinta (R-NH)
Hanna (R-NY)
Harris (R-MD)
Herrera Beutler (R-WA)
Hultgren (R-IL)
Hunter (R-CA)
Landry (R-LA)
Lankford (R-OK)
Long (R-MO)
Meehan (R-PA)
Mica (R-FL)
Miller (R-CA)
Miller (R-MI)
Ribble (R-WI)
Schmidt (R-OH)
Shuster (R-PA)
Southerland (R-FL)
Posted in