Find local advocacy groups, bike shops, instructors, clubs, classes and more!

Find by Zip Code or City, State
Find by State
Find based on current location

Critical vote to save cycling

UPDATE II: Petri-Johnson-Lipinsky Amendment failed by two votes, 27 yea, 29 no.  Thank you to everyone who contacted their members to support this amendment. We came very close. This is a major set-back for bicycling and walking and a balance transportation system, but we will keep up the fight.

UPDATE: You can watch the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee mark up the bill live right now (starting at 9:00am EST).


Here’s League President Andy Clarke on an important vote taking place Thursday, Feb. 2, 2012, that may well determine the fate of cycling in the proposed House transportation bill:

Tomorrow, on the day of the House vote on the American Energy and Infrastructure Jobs Act, Representatives Tom Petri (R-WI), Timothy Johnson (R-IL), and Daniel Lipinsky (R-IL) will submit an amendment to preserve bicycling and walking. The outcome is likely to come down to one or two key votes.

No matter who your Congressperson is, you can TAKE ACTION here.  However, if your Representative is on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, it is essential that they hear your voice right now (this links to a different alert for T&I committee member).

Here are all of the members of the Transportation & Infrastructure Committee. If one of them is your representative, please contact them now. The names in bold really need to hear from their constituents.

John L. Mica (FL)
Don Young (AK)Thomas E. Petri (WI)Howard Coble (NC)John J. Duncan, Jr. (TN)Frank A. LoBiondo (NJ)

Gary Miller (CA)

Timothy V. Johnson (IL)

Sam Graves (MO)

Bill Shuster (PA)

Shelley Moore Capito (WV)

Jean Schmidt (OH)

Candice Miller (MI)

Duncan Hunter (CA)

Andy Harris (MD)

Rick Crawford (AR)

Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA)

Frank Guinta (NH)

Randy Hultgren (IL)

Lou Barletta (PA)

Chip Cravaack (MN)

Blake Farenthold (TX)

Larry Bucshon (IN)

Billy Long (MO)

Bob Gibbs (OH)

Patrick Meehan (PA)

Richard Hanna (NY)

Jeff Landry (LA)

Steve Southerland (FL)

Jeff Denham (CA)

James Lankford (OK)

Reid Ribble (WI)

Chuck Fleischmann (TN)

Nick J. Rahall, II (WV)
Ranking Member

Peter A. DeFazio (OR)

Jerry F. Costello (IL)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Jerrold Nadler (NY)

Corrine Brown (FL)

Bob Filner (CA)

Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX)

Elijah E. Cummings (MD)

Leonard Boswell (IA)

Tim Holden (PA)

Rick Larsen (WA)

Michael E. Capuano (MA)

Timothy H. Bishop (NY)

Michael H. Michaud (ME)

Russ Carnahan (MO)

Grace Napolitano (CA)

Daniel Lipinski (IL)

Mazie Hirono (HI)

Jason Altmire (PA)

Timothy J. Walz (MN)

Heath Shuler (NC)

Steve Cohen (TN)

Laura A. Richardson (CA)

Albio Sires (NJ)

Donna F. Edwards (MD)

Posted in